A New Paradigm

Whenever you start guiding yourself by caring about how you feel, you start guiding yourself back into your Stream of Source Energy, and that’s where your clarity is; that’s where your joy is; that’s where your flexibility is; that’s where your balance is; that’s where your good ideas come from. That’s where all the good stuff is accessed from.

-Abraham Hicks

When I’m not home, I am likely daydreaming about what I’d be doing if I was home: Crocheting, making a dent in the pile of books next to the bed, leafing through the Portland Mercury with a cat in my lap, or creating jewelry pieces for the DIY jewelry business I’ve been wanting to launch.  What I actually do when I am home includes: Procrastination sharpening exercises, straightening the pile of books next to the bed without actually opening one, and Pinterest.

Since being sick in bed leaves little room to procrastinate with anything involving the internet, I turned one of my daydreams into reality and launched my jewelry business, Paradigm Pdx via Facebook!

This is particularly exciting because I had been going back and forth over the brand name (timeless but not trite!), logo (still don’t have one) and tiny details (business cards, packaging, waaahhhh!), which got me nowhere. The very least I could do for myself was choose to stop being a prisoner to excuses and fear and take control of the situation with whatever resources I had. While I feel like I crossed one huge thing off of the list and added 50 more as a result of launching this project, it was a much-needed beam of empowerment to my spirit, which has dimmed after searching for a job in a desolate abyss for what seems like forever.

While I pray that 1 job with everything I want in one little package exists somewhere, another part of me is excited at the thought of being a jewelry designer, blogger and freelance marketer. I don’t know how to get from point A to point B, or if it is truly possible to be all of those things at once. But I do know that the desire to feel creative and impassioned with my work is overwhelming. And that is a paradigm worth pursuing.

Leave a Reply

